Only great programmers know the proven P word

Don't give up there is always something to try

I stared at my code editor. The stack trace was quite intimidating. I searched the internet. Nothing.

“This sucks!” I said to my cubicle. Working with proprietary code makes Stackoverflow useless.

I guess I can ask Rhonda. Although when I ask her she has to tell me about her cats and garden. Perhaps not…

Give Up

Programming can be a lonely life. We toil away in silence. That can make our minds play tricks on us.

It can be easier to give up than to move forward. Quitting is easy. Full stop.

Hard-wired for Safety

Our brains are programmed to see threats. Long ago this would come in handy. Beware of the bear or lions.

Today we imagine more threats than we see in real life. Our lives are overall much safer. Our mind keeps going.

There are more things … likely to frighten us than there are to crush us; we suffer more often in imagination than in reality.-Seneca

I recently reached out to a former co-worker and friend Luke Wenz. He is a respected technical leader and developer. Luke always has fascinating insight.

I asked Luke what is a good habit for a programmer. He responded with this thought.

I think one of the most important habits a good programmer can have is to be persistent. For example, if you encounter a problem or difficult situation you are able to be resourceful to either find a solution (e.g. online searching, book) or know who to ask to make progress until accomplishing the desired outcome.

I like how Luke goes for the “P” word! Persistent. Too many of us are looking for magic answers. He hits the nail on the head. Great developers show up and dig in.

Keep Buggering On

In the depths of the invasion of Britain, Winston Churchill would implore his people to Keep Buggering On. He was calm in a crisis. Churchill kept hope strong in the darkness.

Software development is much more mundane. Although we can let that distract us. Focus on one thing and Keep Buggering On or KBO for short.

Obstacle

I once interviewed Jono Bacon about his book People Powered. As he was describing his community building he mentioned a book. Jono related the story of a friend who had cancer.

He gave this friend a copy of The Obstacle is the Way. Jono said how his friend was really helped by it. The book shared some principles to allow them to cope.

I picked up a copy immediately. Ryan Holiday does a great job of sharing how the many obstacles we encounter teach us lessons. Similar to coding. We have to overcome challenges.

So as you sit down with your code, remember this one word. Be persistent. Don’t let things distract you, instead of giving up. Keep Buggering On!